[NOTE: Sing to the tune of “Wheels on the bus”]: And the birds in the trees go “Tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet” And the birds in the trees go “tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet”…..

For months I’ve been swatting away good-meaning friends like flies coming after my tea. “You need to tweet,” they say, “It would really boost your platform.”

“But I’m already doing 394 things,” I say, “I’ve no time for one more.” But that wasn’t the whole truth. Inside I was thinking who cares what I’m doing at any given moment of the day?

Then a publisher discovered my blog via a tweet one of those well-meaning friends had posted, so I thought maybe it might be worth checking out. Within less than ten minutes of playing around I had a Twitter account. Was I right about not having the time? Sort of. Am I sorry? No. For one thing, Twitter has saved me time, time  I would’ve spent Googling and searching an infinity of sites to find that one piece of info I was looking for in the first place, thus balancing out said time, if not then some.

More than building my platform, Twitter has been an incredible resource for not only information I’m interested in, (without having to spend the time click, click, clicking to find that information), I’ve already scored two free books, and that’s after just four days. Well, technically the books aren’t free – they’ll cost me time to write a review, but considering I love writing reviews, how much better of a deal could a gal get? I’ve also discovered quite a few writers with the same interests as my own whom I may never have found otherwise.  

But the best of it is the joy I feel that I may well be helping others by pointing them to some sort of answer they’d been searching and searching for to no avail. Nothing in this world makes me happier than the satisfaction of helping someone in need, whether that be by working with the United Way, or by tweeting.

So, thank you friends for pushing me to Twitter, and I’m sorry if I hit you on the nose with my swatter.

If you’ve not yet explored Twitter, I’d feel terribly guilty for not paying it forward and pushing you along myself. Check it out! Twitter!

8 thoughts on “[NOTE: Sing to the tune of “Wheels on the bus”]: And the birds in the trees go “Tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet” And the birds in the trees go “tweet tweet tweet, tweet tweet tweet”…..

  1. Deanna,
    I’ve never really understood the whole twitter thing. But I’m going to go have a look via your link:)
    Elizabeth

    • I’m still learning the ropes myself, but it really is a lot simpler than I thought it would be. Make sure to let me know your user name when you sign up so I can follow you. Hope to see you there soon!

  2. What a nice surprise to see you there, Deanna! So glad you decided to join our fellow tweeters. And did you like them colorful apples I posted the other day? Like you said, there is a treasure trove of info there.

    What are you guys waiting for already? Come along now.:)

  3. Yep, yep, yep. Twitter’s great. Not because the whole world really needs to know that I had gyros for supper, but because of all the really useful information you find via timely and relevant links people post. Relevant? You bet, because YOU decide who you are going to follow and you’ll only follow relevant people. And besides, gyros are great!
    ~jon

    • Oh yea, the subliminal messages are rampant, that’s for sure. Now I’m wanting a gyro. :) By the way, I appreciate that you post each #fridayflash. I wish I had time to read them all, but of course I’ve little. But just being able to pick and choose from the titles is nice, so Thank You!

Comments are closed.